mourning a lapse of feminism in the rising generation

shower graphic

Who doesn’t like a party? Thanks so much for inviting me… oh. It’s a “shower.”

It’s a theme shower, I see, pre-feminist wave of the mid-20th century? The envelope is addressed to “Mrs.” me and I bristle; I just don’t see that in my circles. When phone solicitors ask if I am “Mrs.” Something, I know they don’t mean me and politely say that they must have someone else in mind and goodbye. Though my male partner is in fact the relative of the “bride,” you have invited only me, so it’s a double-X chromosome thing, huh? How retro, like my home phone, I guess.

Your tastefully printed invitation – style points there! — refers to the wedding couple as the “soon-to-be Hisnames” give by all those bridesmaids. I wonder if you would really use the phrase “tying the knot” in its original sense, that of a trial marriage. Probably not.  You mean a clichéd binding of hand, foot, mind and money.

I usually bathe alone. So without regret, I will not be attending your party. You won’t miss me.

One response to “mourning a lapse of feminism in the rising generation

  1. This is a bit harsh. To me, being a feminist means allowing each woman to do what makes her happy. Judgment is one of the greatest evils all women face in today’s society. Some women have a desire to be called “Mrs.”, have a gender specific, themed shower, and revel in homemaking; that is their prerogative. You don’t have to incorporate these practices into your own life, but you’re doing an injustice to feminists everywhere by putting down women who do not share your values. -Jolie

Leave a Reply

