happy birthday to me

CIMG1835It has been a good birthday, and thanks to friends far and near, geographically and emotionally, for all your notes. It feels nice.

In the morning, my little niece, Frances, paid a surprise visit, bringing her “backup” birthday cake, the one not required for her own birthday yesterday. You know how I love salvage items, even a little roughed up in transit. While here, she helped water all the plants missed on our weekend away, and did her big-girl job in our bathroom facilities, the first time away from home, and proudly announced it, so it really is a special day.

Then I went to see the four-year-old I hang with on most Tuesdays, who, hearing it was my birthday, asked my age. A little fazed at first, he bounced back to tell me that “58 is not the last number.”

I hope not.

4 responses to “happy birthday to me

  1. Love it, love it, love it.

  2. OMG what’s not to love about a “back up cake”… so wonderful! Happy Day!

  3. I love this story. I logged on to wish you a happy birthday hoping your day was good, but by this story it sounds like your day was perfect. Love you!

  4. Happy Birthday. The backups is the best kind. It takes forethought! Enjoy your evening.

Leave a Reply

