Readers, digesting

William at OLL -- 3 oct 2013

William at OLL — 3 oct 2013

The Sacks book is not the only book I’ve read in a month, though it is a treasure, especially here and now.  My reading pace has been good, but I am jealous of William’s. He can read really fast and can stay up all night to finish a book.  He loads up at the library, and has probably read at least 12 books, fiction and non, about Mexico, the Civil War, Dien Bien Phu and more.  (Without irony, he thought Mexico Profundo was “deep.”) He says he’s read three paperback novels – by Stephen King, by Tammy Hoag, and one called Wicked Delights of the Bridal Bed.  That last one slipped past me.  “Actually a good story,” he said.

Those of you know William will want to be seated when I tell you he accepted an invitation to give a little talk at the library introducing some of the volumes from the ‘new books’ shelf.  He was told he need only read the cover blurbs and maybe get a few tidbits off the web, but he read the books; he looked stuff up to accessorize.

I stayed in the next room, but as the participants left the session after more than an hour, I heard how good and lively it was.  This may be a new side to him.  Who’s not surprised?

@@

One I picked up is a British detective story – I’d never heard of it but maybe it’s well-known – Sudden Vengeance by Edmund Crispin.  I don’t know that I’d recommend it, but I can’t remember a fiction book with so many words I had never seen before.  See if you know these:

cheroot – n. a cigar having open, untapered ends.

affray – n. a public fight; a noisy quarrel; brawl.

eupeptic – adj. having good digestion

resipiscence – n. acknowledgment that one has been mistaken

adumbrate – v. to outline; give a faint indication of; forshadow; to overshadow; obscure

rheumy – adj. damp and unhealthy

sequacious – adj. archaic. imitating, or serving another person, especially unreasoningly

I especially love these.

Re infecta – n. the business being unfinished.

Vade mecum – n. something a person carries about for frequent or regular use, literally, “go with me.”

3 responses to “Readers, digesting

  1. I am so jealous I missed William’s talk. I would love to get reading recommendations in such an entertaining way! As for your vocabulary I was very proud initially knowing the first 3 words, but then totally failed the rest with one minor exception. I like adumbrate especially…though why you’d use it rather than the other simpler options escapes me. We’ve been reading a lot as well, which is a truly fabulous luxury of this slowed down life style.

  2. Maybe William could be talked into leading a discussion at book group when you both return?????? If this furlough goes on much longer, David might come join you at your local library. I’m sure he and William could find some fun building projects to tackle in Oxaca.

  3. I sent David a book suggestion, actually. The Perfect Red is about the cochineal market with history, science and economics rolled together.

Leave a Reply

