Image

Drink up!

Drink up!

I bought this bottle of mescal a couple weeks ago. I saw that it has a little sticker that says, “pechuga.” I asked in substandard Spanish, pointing a finger to my own chest, “Isn’t that ‘breast’?” I thought the answer was, no, it means that a slice of the ‘core’ of the cactus is in there. And, why yes, there is a little piece of cactus in there. Done. Adios.

But now, rereading the fabulous Oaxaca Journal by Oliver Sacks (I can’t shut up about him), I just found out that it is in fact, “mescal flavored by raw chicken breasts.”

Leave a Reply

